NAIA Scholar-Athletes Announced

December 3, 2010

For Immediate Release

Sioux City, IA – The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) has recently announced the 2010 Daktronics-NAIA Scholar-Athletes for volleyball, men’s and women’s soccer, and men’s and women’s cross country. Indiana Tech had 13 athletes recognized for their efforts.

Representing the volleyball team was senior Kayla Hartman (Ft. Wayne, IN/Northrop) and juniors Melanie Forman (Hastings, MI/Lakewood), Ashley Hamilton (Middlebury, IN/Northridge), and Tais Oliveira (Cx do Sul, Brazil).

The soccer teams had several recipients including David Crowe (Kenton, OH), Joseph Ishraidi (Lansing, MI/Dewitt), Aaron Newell (Germantown, OH), and Sam Terman (Mason, MI/Mason) for the men, and Tressa Garty (Davidson, MI), and Ashley Mejia (Ft. Wayne, IN) for the women.

Cross country runners Mika Davis (Modoc, IN/Union Modoc), Veronica Jersey (South Whitley, IN/Whitko), John Wainwright (Wolcottville, IN/Lakeland), and Micky Nelson (Wheat Ridge, CO/Wheat Ridge) all earned the recognition.

To qualify, a student-athlete must be nominated by each institution’s head coach, maintain a minimum grade point average of 3.5 on a 4.0 scale and have achieved junior academic status.

Click on each sport to see the full list of recipients: Volleyball, Men’s Soccer, Women’s Soccer, Men’s Cross Country, Women’s Cross Country.

For more information on Indiana Tech athletics please call the Athletic Office at 260-422-5561 ext. 2262 or visit our website at


Media Contact

Zach Shore
Sports Information Director
(260) 422-5561, ext. 2492

University Info

Indiana Tech
1600 E. Washington Blvd.
Fort Wayne, IN 46803
(800) 937-2448
Locate Tech | Campus map [PDF]

Visit the athletics news archives for past news releases.

Copyright © 2014 Indiana Tech    1600 East Washington Blvd., Fort Wayne, Indiana 46803  [Map it]
Phone: 800.937.2448  ||  Contact Us | Employment | Campus Locations | Campus map