Men Finish 4th, Women 3rd at WHAC Championships

February 9, 2013

For Immediate Release

Men's Bracket Results | Women's Bracket Results | Bracket Play Scores

Grandville, Mich. – The Indiana Tech bowling teams competed in the first ever Wolverine-Hoosier Athletic Conference bowling championships on Saturday at Fairlanes Bowling Center in Grandville, Michigan. The men’s team finished in fourth place and the women’s team took third.

Davenport University swept the tournament championships, defeating Lawrence Tech in the finals on the men’s side and the University of Northwestern Ohio on the women’s.

The Tech teams wrapped up regular season conference play in second place, and both earned No. 2-seeds and first round byes in the WHAC Championships after the qualifying round.

In the second round of the men’s tournament, the Warriors met 4th-seed Lawrence Tech. The Warriors won two of the first three games before the Blue Devils rallied and won the next two, sending Indiana Tech into the loser’s bracket. There, the Warriors made quick work of Siena Heights University, defeating the Saints in three games, before Davenport eliminated Tech in three games.

In the women’s tournament, after blowing past 3rd-seeded UNOH in three games, the Warriors faced off against top-seeded Davenport where the winner would advance to the championship round. Tech cruised to wins in the first two games before the Panthers edged out two straight games to force a decision fifth game. However, it would be DU coming out on top, sending the Warriors into the loser’s bracket.

Following the loss, the Lady Warriors met UNOH, with the winner heading to the finals to face Davenport. The teams split the first two games, but the Racers would win the next two to eliminate the Warriors.

Postseason honors were handed out at the conclusion of the tournaments and headlining the awards for the Warriors was men's senior Jaiden Metzger (Ft. Wayne, IN/Snider) who was named the WHAC Bowler of the Year after posting a 208.1 average for 16 games. Had Coach Larry Secrist who was also honored as the WHAC Men’s Coach of Character.

Receiving First Team All-WHAC accolades for the men’s team were seniors Tony Henry (Ft. Wayne, IN/Bishop Dwenger) and Metzger while sophomore Devin Arick (Columbia City, IN/Columbia City) was selected to the Honorable Mention All-WHAC Team. Henry was also named to the WHAC Champions of Character Team.

Freshman Rachel Atkins (Columbia City, IN/Columbia City) was the lone Warrior to earn First Team All-WHAC honors on the women’s side. Jenna Shaffer (Sidney, OH/Sidney) and Emalee Wiser (Ft. Wayne, IN/Northrop) were named to the Honorable Mention All-WHAC Team.

Jessica James (Ft. Wayne, IN/North Side) and Erin Tigler (Wabash, IN/Northfield) earned WHAC All-Academic honors for their hard work and dedication in the classroom, and senior Alicia Bowman (Indianapolis, IN/Warren Central) was named to the WHAC Champions of Character Team.

The Warriors return to action on Feb. 16-17 at the Backhaul Direct Hoosier in Indianapolis.

For more information on Indiana Tech athletics please call the Athletic Office at 260-422-5561 ext. 2492 or visit our website at


- Go Warrior Pride -


Media Contact

Zach Shore
Sports Information Director
(260) 422-5561, ext. 2492

University Info

Indiana Tech
1600 E. Washington Blvd.
Fort Wayne, IN 46803
(800) 937-2448
Locate Tech | Campus map [PDF]

Visit the Bowling archives for past news releases.

Copyright © 2014 Indiana Tech    1600 East Washington Blvd., Fort Wayne, Indiana 46803  [Map it]
Phone: 800.937.2448  ||  Contact Us | Employment | Campus Locations | Campus map