Three Warriors Place at MSU Open

November 12, 2011

For Immediate Release

Complete Results

East Lansing, MI – The Indiana Tech wrestling team competed at the annual Michigan State University Open on Saturday, which is one of the largest tournaments in the nation.

In the freshman/sophomore division, freshmen Andre Sanders (Farmington Hills, MI/Harrison), Travis Barroquillo (Wolcottville, IN/Prairie Heights), and Tanner Martin (Ft. Wayne, IN/Snider) all placed while Martin became Tech’s fourth national qualifier.

At 125 pounds, Sanders went 6-2 on his way to a sixth place finish. He won his first match before dropping his second to fall into the consolation bracket. There, Sanders won five straight matches, but fell to Vinnie Pizzuto of Eastern Michigan in the fifth-place match.

Barroquillo had another big day, going 4-1 to place third at 133 pounds. He won his first three matches to reach the semifinals, but fell to Kyle Bauer of Kent State 6-3. Barroquillo responded with a victory over Dan McNulty of Ashland by technical fall, 20-4 in the third-place match.

At 184 pounds, Martin won four matches in the tournament and took sixth place. Martin won his first two bouts of the day before getting knocked into the consolation bracket. He then won back-to-back matches, including one fall at 1:02. He would eventually fall to Cole Baxter of Kent State in the match for fifth place.

The Warriors are back in action on Saturday, November 19 at the Lindenwood University Open in St. Charles, Missouri.



125 lbs. 

Kris McKinley (0-2)

Vinny Punzone (Notre Dame) fall Kris McKinley (Tech), 4:50

Esteban Gonzales (Olivet) fall Kris McKinley (Tech), 1:07

Connor Hughes (4-2)

Connor Hughes (Tech) TF Travis Fletcher (Unattached), 17-2

Nick Harrison (Northern) dec. Connor Hughes (Tech), 7-5

Connor Hughes (Tech) major dec. Joey Morris (Ashland), 13-4

Connor Hughes (Tech) dec. Delian Schnieder (Heidelberg), 6-4

Connor Hughes (Tech) dec. Vinny Punzone (Notre Dame), 7-2

Vinnie Pizzuto (Eastern Michigan) dec. Connor Hughes (Tech), 11-4

Andre Sanders (6-2)

Andre Sanders (Tech) dec. George Illiopolous (Harper), 6-4

Dominic Olivieri (Illinois) major dec. Andre Sanders (Tech), 10-2

Andre Sanders (Tech) major dec. Ian Fitzpatrick (Notre Dame), 16-4

Andre Sanders (Tech) dec. Derek Elmore (Northern), 6-2

Andre Sanders (Tech) dec. Luke Schroeder (Purdue), 7-2

Andre Sanders (Tech) dec. Matt Perez (Notre Dame), 7-0

Andre Sanders (Tech) dec. Dominic Olivieri (Illinois), 6-5

Vinnie Pizzuto (Eastern Michigan) dec. Andre Sanders (Tech), 8-5

Brett Yarbrough (1-2)

Brett Yarbrough (Tech) TF Ian Fitzpatrick (Notre Dame), 22-6

Dominic Olivieri (Illinois) fall Brett Yarbrough (Tech), 7:26

Esteban Gonzales (Olivet) dec. Brett Yarbrough (Tech), 8-4


133 lbs.

Travis Barroquillo (4-1)

Travis Barroquillo (Tech) dec. Davion Caston (Notre Dame), 10-3

Travis Barroquillo (Tech) TF Rudolph Pataro (Ohio Northern), 17-2

Travis Barroquillo (Tech) dec. Brandon Fifield (Michigan), 10-7

Kyle Bauer (Kent State) dec. Travis Barroquillo (Tech), 6-3

Travis Barroquillo (Tech) TF Dan McNulty (Ashland), 20-4

Jordan Bosma (1-2)

Jordan Bosma (Tech) dec. Mike Manuche (Ohio State), 12-7

Mike Carlone (Cleveland) fall Jordan Bosma (Tech), 2:16

Thorian Twyner (Northern) dec. Jordan Bosma (Tech), 13-6


149 lbs.

Drake Meska (3-2)

Drake Meska (Tech) dec. Louden Gordon (Notre Dame), 10-5

Drake Meska (Tech) dec. Thomas Brosnahan (Michigan), 5-0

Nick Hodgkins (Central) major dec. Drake Meska (Tech), 16-4

Drake Meska (Tech) dec. Steven Johnson (Findlay), 5-1

Chad Ryan (Columbia) major decision Drake Meska (Tech), 11-2

Tim Scott (0-2)

Tyler Argue (Northern) major dec. Tim Scott (Tech), 10-2

Ian Gillespie (Heidelberg) major decision Tim Scott (Tech), 11-2

Reece Lefever (1-2)

Reece Lefever (Tech) dec. Joey Kielbasa (Central), 9-7

Caleb Ervin (Illinois) TF Reece Lefever (Tech), 18-1

Paul Sawaya (Olivet) dec. Reece Lefever (Tech), 10-9


157 lbs.

Conner Lefever (4-2)

Conner Lefever (Tech) dec. Matt Ruettiger (Illinois), 9-2

Tony Burge (Notre Dame) dec. Conner Lefever (Tech), 6-0

Conner Lefever (Tech) fall Nicholas Burt (Unattached), 3:44

Conner Lefever (Tech) dec. Michael Hummer (Ashland), 10-3

Conner Lefever (Tech) dec. Tommy DiVitanton (Columbia), 8-2

Matt Frisch (Northern) major dec. Conner Lefever (Tech), 11-1

Tiandre Edwards (2-2)

Jesse Swink (Edinboro) fall Tiandre Edwards (Tech), 0:41

Tiandre Edwards (Tech) dec. Matt Ruettiger (Illinois), 8-4

Tiandre Edwards (Tech) dec. Eric Fajardo (Columbia), 5-1

Casey Fuller (Edinboro) major dec. Tiandre Edwards (Tech), 10-2


165 lbs.

Kafuba Donzon (0-2)

Kevin Bialka (Northwestern) TF Kafuba Donzon (Tech), 18-1

Mark Smilek (Notre Dame, OH) dec. Kafuba Donzon (Tech), 3-0


184 lbs.

Dustin Boyd (0-2)

Nick Licari (Olivet) fall Dustin Boyd (Tech), 1:08

Jeremy Stepp (Heidelberg) dec. Dustin Boyd (Tech), 3-1

Tanner Martin (4-2)

Tanner Martin (Tech) dec. Dominic Owens (Ohio Northern), 9-3

Tanner Martin (Tech) dec. Chris Heald (Michigan), 10-5

Aaron Stevenson (Indianapolis) major dec. Tanner Martin (Tech), 11-3

Tanner Martin (Tech) fall Beau Wenger (Ohio), 1:02

Tanner Martin (Tech) dec. Kurtis Schaefer (Ashland), 8-2

Cole Baxter (Kent State) TF Tanner Martin (Tech), 16-0


285 lbs.

Andre Dunn (0-2)

Peter Sturgeon (Central Michigan) major decision Andre Dunn (Tech), 10-2

Kevin Lester (Columbia) dec. Andre Dunn (Tech), 5-0


For more information on Indiana Tech athletics please call the Athletic Office at 260-422-5561 ext. 2262 or visit our website at


Media Contact

Zach Shore
Sports Information Director
(260) 422-5561, ext. 2492

University Info

Indiana Tech
1600 E. Washington Blvd.
Fort Wayne, IN 46803
(800) 937-2448
Locate Tech | Campus map [PDF]

Visit the Men's Lacrosse news archives for past news releases.

Copyright © 2014 Indiana Tech    1600 East Washington Blvd., Fort Wayne, Indiana 46803  [Map it]
Phone: 800.937.2448  ||  Contact Us | Employment | Campus Locations | Campus map