Warriors Drop Two at Patriot Duals

December 9, 2011

For Immediate Release

Cumberlands Results | Campbellsville Results

Williamsburg, KY – The 20th-ranked Indiana Tech wrestling team was on the campus of the University of the Cumberlands for the Patriot Duals on Friday night, where the Warriors would faceoff against two NAIA Top 20 ranked squads. The Warriors fell to 18th-ranked Cumberlandss 33-16 before being bested by 4th-ranked Campbellsville University 34-15. Tech is now 1-3 in duals action.

Against Cumberlands, Tech won four weight classes. Freshman Travis Barroquillo (Wolcottville, IN/Prairie Heights) earned a 15-3 major decision victory at 133-pounds and at 165-pounds junior Kafuba Donzon (Albany, GA/Darton) won in overtime 11-9 over nationally ranked Zachary Barkett. At 184-pounds, freshman Tanner Martin (Ft. Wayne, IN/Snider) needed just 1:51 to pin Jacob Meredith and junior Andre Dunn (Kewanee, IL/Lincoln) won a 3-1 decision at 285-lbs.

In the matchup with Campbellsville, the Warriors got 12 points on two forfeits from the Tigers while freshman Andre Sanders (Farmington Hills, MI/Harrison) scored the only win for Tech in a 3-1 decision at 125-lbs.

The Warriors are off until December 18-19 when they travel to Indianapolis, Indiana for the Midwest Classic Invitational held at the University of Indianapolis.


Complete Results

#20 Indiana Tech 16, #18 University of the Cumberlands 33

125 – Larone Madison (Cumberlands) fall Andre Sanders (Tech), 2:55

133 – Travis Barroquillo (Tech) major dec. Grant Burkhalter (Cumberlands), 15-3

141 – Jered Medina (Cumberlands) fall Jordan Bosma (Tech), 1:25

149 – Anthonie Linares (Cumberlands) tech fall Reece Lefever (Tech), 4:44 15-0

157 – Derek Murdock (Cumberlands) major dec. Tim Scott (Tech), 9-1

165 – Kafuba Donzon (Tech) dec. Zachary Barkett (Cumberlands), 11-9 OT

174 – Justin Dillinger (Cumberlands) won by forfeit

184 – Tanner Martin (Tech) fall Jacob Meredith (Cumberlands), 1:51

197 – Courtney Freeman (Cumberlands) fall Dustin Boyd (Tech), 3:45

285 – Andre Dunn (Tech) dec. Grahm Smith (Cumberlands), 3-1


#20 Indiana Tech 15, #4 Campbellsville University 34

125 – Andre Sanders (Tech) dec. Jarvis Elam (Camp), 4-1

133 – Tyler Alsip (Camp) major dec. Connor Hughes (Tech), 16-2

141 – Tommy Pretty (Camp) dec. Jordan Bosma (Tech), 7-1

149 – Matt Milton (Camp) fall Reece Lefever (Tech), 0:26

157 – Conor Young (Camp) fall Tim Scott (Tech), 2:11

165 – Paul Gryniuk (Camp) fall Kafuba Donzon (Tech), 2:15

174 – Josh Ashbrook (Camp) won by forfeit

184 – Dustin Boyd (Tech) won by forfeit

197 – Spencer Adams (Camp) dec. Ben Wines (Tech), 10-3

285 – Andre Dunn (Tech) won by forfeit


For more information on Indiana Tech athletics please call the Athletic Office at 260-422-5561 ext. 2262 or visit our website at http://www.indianatech.edu/athletics

Media Contact

Zach Shore
Sports Information Director
(260) 422-5561, ext. 2492

University Info

Indiana Tech
1600 E. Washington Blvd.
Fort Wayne, IN 46803
(800) 937-2448
Locate Tech | Campus map [PDF]

Visit the Men's Lacrosse news archives for past news releases.

Copyright © 2014 Indiana Tech    1600 East Washington Blvd., Fort Wayne, Indiana 46803  [Map it]
Phone: 800.937.2448  ||  Contact Us | Employment | Campus Locations | Campus map