Fahs Wins Storm Open, Becomes Tech’s 8th National Qualifier

January 7, 2012

For Immediate Release

Complete Results

Painesville, OH – The 20th ranked Indiana Tech wrestling team saw their eighth team member qualify for the NAIA National Championships on Saturday at the Lake Erie College Storm Open as sophomore Adam Fahs (Portage, MI/Trine) went 4-0 on his way to winning the 141-pound division.

Fahs also became the second Tech grappler to win a tournament championship, joining Tanner Martin (Ft. Wayne, IN/Snider) who won the 184-pound weight class at the Indiana Little State Tournament.

Fahs joins the ranks of Travis Barroquillo (Wolcottville, IN/Prairie Heights), Kafuba Donzon (Albany, GA/Darton), Dustin Boyd (Mishawaka, IN/Calumet), Andre Dunn (Kewanee, IL/Lincoln), Reece Lefever (Ft. Wayne, IN/Carroll), Tanner Martin (Ft. Wayne, IN/Snider), and Andre Sanders (Farmington Hills, MI/Harrison), who have all punched their tickets to Iowa.

The Warriors are back in action on Saturday, January 14 in North Manchester, Indiana for the Spartan Mat Classic held at Manchester College followed by a trip to Ypsilanti, Michigan on the next day for the Eastern Michigan University Duals. There, Tech will meet up with EMU and Clarion University beginning at 11 a.m.



125 lbs.

Connor Hughes (1-2)

Luke Schroeder (Purdue) dec. Connor Hughes (Tech), 4-3

Connor Hughes (Tech) fall John Fischer (Gannon), 1:03

Brian Hauser (Notre Dame OH) dec. Connor Hughes (Tech), 7-3

Brett Yarbrough (0-2)

Matt Perez (Notre Dame OH) dec. Brett Yarbrough (Tech), 6-2

Sean Walton (Buffalo) fall Brett Yarbrough (Tech), 4:37

Kris McKinley (0-2)

Austin Gillihan (Lake Erie) fall Kris McKinley (Tech), 2:24

Justin Toth (Lake Erie) dec. Kris McKinley (Tech), 7-3


133 lbs.

Travis Barroquillo (2-3)

Travis Barroquillo (Tech) fall Josh Whitt (Ohio State), 0:47

Travis Barroquillo (Tech) fall Leon Shannon (Notre Dame OH), 4:49

Matt Fields (Purdue) TF Travis Barroquillo (Tech), 15-0

Justin Farmer (Buffalo) MFF Travis Barroquillo (Tech)

Leon Shannon (Notre Dame OH) MFF Travis Barroquillo (Tech)

Jordan Bosma (1-2)

Tre Smith (Notre Dame OH) fall Jordan Bosma (Tech), 1:55

Jordan Bosma (Tech) dec. Ian Abplanalp (Mercyhurst), 12-8

Tom McVicker (Lake Erie) fall Jordan Bosma (Tech), 0:30


141 lbs.

Adam Fahs (4-0)

Adam Fahs (Tech) dec. Isaac Morisette (Lake Erie), 11-4

Adam Fahs (Tech) dec. Alex Schulmann (Edinboro), 3-2

Adam Fahs (Tech) major dec. Maurice Miller (Notre Dame OH), 13-5

Adam Fahs (Tech) MFF Thomas Pompei (Unattached)

Alex Gregory (2-2)

Alex Gregory (Tech) fall Eric Wolfe (Notre Dame OH), 4:54

Thomas Pompei (Unattached) fall Alex Gregory (Tech), 2:42

Alex Gregory (Tech) dec. Vincent Fischetti (Edinboro), 15-9

Christopher Rau (Eastern Michigan) MFF Alex Gregory (Tech)


149 lbs.

Tim Scott (1-2)

Martin Carlson (Notre Dame OH) TF Tim Scott (Tech), 16-0

Tim Scott (Tech) major dec. Ryan Martini (Mercyhurst), 17-6

Mike Krysiak (Gannon) fall Tim Scott (Tech), 2:48

Reece Lefever (2-2)

Mike Depalma (Edinboro) dec. Reece Lefever (Tech), 9-4

Reece Lefever (Tech) dec. Mitchell Porter (Lake Erie), 8-3

Reece Lefever (Tech) dec. Jon-Marc Burdick (Edinboro), 6-4

Sam Delpra (Great Lakes Eli) dec. Reece Lefever (Tech), 6-2


165 lbs.

Kafuba Donzon (2-2)

Mike Monson (Cleveland St.) major dec. Kafuba Donzon (Tech), 14-2

Kafuba Donzon (Tech) dec. Nathan Hartless (Edinboro), 10-3

Kafuba Donzon (Tech) dec. Justin Joseph (Eastern Michigan), 8-7

Tyler Gargano (Kent State) dec. Kafuba Donzon (Tech), 8-7

James Bennett (2-2)

James Bennett (Tech) dec. Sheldon Brandenburg (Cleveland St.), 3-2

Matt Vandermeer (Lake Erie) dec. James Bennett (Tech), 11-5

James Bennett (Tech) dec. Mark Smilek (Notre Dame OH), 4-2

Domenic Montesanti (Buffalo) major dec. James Bennett (Tech), 15-2


184 lbs.

Mike Smith (0-2)

Tony Petrella (Unattached) FF Mike Smith (Tech)

Richard Dowdley (Mercyhurst) FF Mike Smith (Tech)


For more information on Indiana Tech athletics please call the Athletic Office at 260-422-5561 ext. 2262 or visit our website at http://www.indianatech.edu/athletics


Media Contact

Zach Shore
Sports Information Director
(260) 422-5561, ext. 2492

University Info

Indiana Tech
1600 E. Washington Blvd.
Fort Wayne, IN 46803
(800) 937-2448
Locate Tech | Campus map [PDF]

Visit the Men's Lacrosse news archives for past news releases.

Copyright © 2014 Indiana Tech    1600 East Washington Blvd., Fort Wayne, Indiana 46803  [Map it]
Phone: 800.937.2448  ||  Contact Us | Employment | Campus Locations | Campus map