Tech Qualifies Three More at Spartan Mat Classic

January 14, 2012

For Immediate Release

Complete Results

North Manchester, Ind. – The Indiana Tech wrestling team qualified three more grapplers for the NAIA National Championships at the Spartan Mat Classic on Saturday, freshmen Connor Hughes (Portage, MI/Northern), Brett Yarbrough (McDonough, GA/Henry County), and Conner Lefever (Ft. Wayne, IN/Carroll). The Warriors have had an incredible season with 11 of a possible 12 wrestlers qualifying in the program’s first year.

In addition to the three new qualifiers, the Warriors placed seven individuals and crowned one tournament champion.

Hughes went 3-2 on his way to taking home fourth place at 125-pounds. After dropping his first match, Hughes won three straight to move into a battle for third place. However, there he would drop a 7-6 decision.

At 133-pounds, Yarbrough won four straight matches to become Tech’s third tournament champion of the year.

Lefever grabbed sixth place in the 165-pound division with a 3-3 record. With the opportunity to advance into the third place match, he fell to 8th-ranked Zachary Barkett from University of the Cumberlands by a 12-5 decision to move to the match for fifth place. There, Lefever dropped a 7-4 decision to Cory Disbennett from Mount St. Joseph to finish in sixth.

The four other Warriors that placed were Alex Gregory (South Bend, IN/Penn), Tim Scott (Detroit, MI/Highland Park), Grayson Smith (Uniondale, IN/Norwell), and James Bennett (Bowden, GA/Darton). Wrestling unattached, Gregory and Bennett both finished in second place. Gregory went 2-1 at 141-pounds while Bennett earned a 4-1 record at 165-pounds. Scott finished in sixth at 149-pounds and Smith came in seventh at 157-pounds.

The Warriors are right back in action tomorrow at the Eastern Michigan University Duals in Ypsilanti, Michigan. Tech will face off against Clarion University at 11 a.m. before taking on EMU at 3 p.m.



125 lbs.

Kris McKinley (0-2) - Unattached

Delian Schneider (Heidelberg) dec. Kris McKinley (Tech), 12-5

Connor Hughes (Tech) fall Kris McKinley (Tech), 3:39

Connor Hughes (3-2)

Alfred McKeown (Olivet) major dec. Connor Hughes (Tech), 8-0

Connor Hughes (Tech) fall Kris McKinley (Tech), 3:39

Connor Hughes (Tech) dec. Garth Simpson (Manchester), 7-4

Connor Hughes (Tech) major dec. Delian Schneider (Heidelberg), 16-8

Alfred McKeown (Olivet) dec. Connor Hughes (Tech), 7-6


133 lbs.

Brett Yarbrough (4-0)

Brett Yarbrough (Tech) dec. Mario Frye (Knox)

Brett Yarbrough (Tech) dec. Will Bryant (Unattached), 10-5

Brett Yarbrough (Tech) dec. Nicolas Santos (North Central), 7-4

Brett Yarbrough (Tech) dec. Grant Burkhalter (Cumberlands), 3-1


141 lbs.

Alex Gregory (2-1) - Unattached

Alex Gregory (Tech) fall Tevin Byers (Unattached), 1:50

Alex Gregory (Tech) dec. Jeremy Ward (Unattached), 4-1

Chris Osborne (Heidelberg) MFF Alex Gregory (Tech)


149 lbs.

Tim Scott (3-3)

Tim Scott (Tech) major dec. Justin Zienta (Unattached), 17-7

Joe Conrad (MSJ) fall Tim Scott (Tech), 1:08

Tim Scott (Tech) fall Cory Neel (Unattached), 5:51

Tim Scott (Tech) dec. Nathan Segal (North Central), OT 3-1

Kyle Witgen (Olivet) fall Tim Scott (Tech), 2:52

Brandon Howes (Ohio Northern) fall Tim Scott (Tech), 4:34


157 lbs.

Grayson Smith (2-2)

Thomas Fehring (MSJ) TF Grayson Smith (Tech), 18-2

Grayson Smith (Tech) Reynaldo Cardenas (Knox), 3:42

Matthew Cordell (Unattached) dec. Grayson Smith (Tech), 5-3

Grayson Smith (Tech) MFF Timofey Savenok (Wheaton)


165 lbs.

Conner Lefever (3-3)

Conner Lefever (Tech) fall Andrew Leis (Unattached), 0:18

James Bennett (Tech) dec. Conner Lefever (Tech), 4-2

Conner Lefever (Tech) fall Dylon Gregg (Ohio Northern), 0:24

Conner Lefever (Tech) dec. Rocky Cantu (Olivet), 7-3

#8 Zachary Barkett (Cumberlands) dec. Conner Lefever (Tech), 12-5

Cory Disbennett (MSJ) dec. Conner Lefever (Tech), 7-4

James Bennett (4-1) - Unattached

James Bennett (Tech) major dec. Cameron Fox (Unattached), 13-2

James Bennett (Tech) major dec. Kevin Evenson (Unattached), 8-0

James Bennett (Tech) dec. Conner Lefever (Tech), 4-2

James Bennett (Tech) dec. Cory Disbennett (MSJ), 6-3

Devin Milheim (North Central) fall James Bennett (Tech), 0:59


For more information on Indiana Tech athletics please call the Athletic Office at 260-422-5561 ext. 2262 or visit our website at


Media Contact

Zach Shore
Sports Information Director
(260) 422-5561, ext. 2492

University Info

Indiana Tech
1600 E. Washington Blvd.
Fort Wayne, IN 46803
(800) 937-2448
Locate Tech | Campus map [PDF]

Visit the Men's Lacrosse news archives for past news releases.

Copyright © 2014 Indiana Tech    1600 East Washington Blvd., Fort Wayne, Indiana 46803  [Map it]
Phone: 800.937.2448  ||  Contact Us | Employment | Campus Locations | Campus map