Warriors Drop Pair of Duals at Eastern Michigan

January 15, 2012

For Immediate Release

Ypsilanti, Mich. – The Indiana Tech wrestling team fell to two NCAA Division I opponents on Saturday at the Eastern Michigan University Duals. Tech was defeated by Clarion University 46-3 in the opening match and dropped a tightly contested match 26-21 to the host EMU in the finale.

In the first match against Clarion, the Golden Eagles took nine of 10 bouts against the Warriors with freshman Tanner Martin (Ft. Wayne, IN/Snider) securing the lone Tech win. Martin took the 9-7 decision over Nick Milano with a takedown in the final 25 seconds.

In the nightcap, the Warriors jumped out to a 6-0 lead over the Eagles of Eastern Michigan University. Freshman Andre Sanders (Farmington Hills, MI/Harrison) earned a 12-10 decision over Greg Egbert at 125-pounds and at 133-pounds fellow freshman Travis Barroquillo (Wolcottville, IN/Prairie Heights) followed him up with a 8-6 victory over Jake Byers.

However, three straight wins from the Eagles at 141-lbs, 149-lbs, and 157-lbs put EMU in front 14-6.

At 165-lbs junior Kafuba Donzon (Albany, GA/Darton) won 3-2 over Alan Constable, followed by Tanner Martin pinning Justin Joseph gave the Warriors a 15-14 edge.

The Eagles answered with a pin at 184-lbs to retake the lead for good and after a forfeit by Tech at 197-lbs, EMU led 26-15. Junior Andre Dunn (Kewanee, IL/Lincoln) capped the match off with a pin of Matt Pettigrew in 1:45.

The Warriors return to action on Saturday, January 21 in Marshall, Missouri for the Missouri Valley Invitational.


Complete Results

Indiana Tech 3, Clarion University 46

125 – Trey Hicks (Clarion) dec. Andre Sanders (Tech), 10-4

133 – Joe Waltko (Clarion) dec. Travis Barroquillo (Tech), 15-8

141 – Tyler Bedelyon (Clarion) fall Adam Fahs (Tech), 3:26

149 – Cameron Moran (Clarion) fall Reece Lefever (Tech), 2:30

157 – James Fleming (Clarion) fall Grayson Smith (Tech), 1:49

165 – Bekzod Abdurakhmonov (Clarion) fall Kafuba Donzon (Tech), 0:51

174 – Tanner Martin (Tech) dec. Nick Milano (Clarion), 9-7

184 – Steven Cressley (Clarion) fall Dustin Boyd (Tech), 4:42

197 – Alex Thomas (Clarion) winner by forfeit

285 – Quintas McCorkle (Clarion) major dec. Andre Dunn (Tech), 15-5


Indiana Tech 21, Eastern Michigan University 26

125 – Andre Sanders (Tech) dec. Greg Egbert (EMU), 12-10

133 – Travis Barroquillo (Tech) dec. Jake Byers (EMU), 8-6

141 – Seth Schaner (EMU) dec. Adam Fahs (Tech), 11-4

149 – Jaylyn Bohl (EMU) fall Tim Scott (Tech), 2:00

157 – Aaron Sulzer (EMU) TF Reece Lefever (Tech), 20-4

165 – Kafuba Donzon (Tech) dec. Alan Constable (EMU), 3-2

174 – Tanner Martin (Tech) fall Justin Joseph (EMU), 6:00

184 – Mike Curby (EMU) fall Dustin Boyd (Tech), 0:45

197 – Khodor Hoballah (EMU) won by forfeit

285 – Andre Dunn (Tech) fall Matt Pettigrew (EMU), 1:45


For more information on Indiana Tech athletics please call the Athletic Office at 260-422-5561 ext. 2262 or visit our website at http://www.indianatech.edu/athletics


Media Contact

Zach Shore
Sports Information Director
(260) 422-5561, ext. 2492

University Info

Indiana Tech
1600 E. Washington Blvd.
Fort Wayne, IN 46803
(800) 937-2448
Locate Tech | Campus map [PDF]

Visit the Men's Lacrosse news archives for past news releases.

Copyright © 2014 Indiana Tech    1600 East Washington Blvd., Fort Wayne, Indiana 46803  [Map it]
Phone: 800.937.2448  ||  Contact Us | Employment | Campus Locations | Campus map