Warriors Dominant in 43-6 Win over Calumet College of St. Joseph

February 10, 2012

For Immediate Release

Fort Wayne, Ind. – The Indiana Tech wrestling team won nine of the ten bouts, including two pin falls, to defeat Calumet College of St. Joseph 43-6 on Friday night in the Warrior Athletic Center. The Warriors are now 2-0 at home and improved their record to 2-5 overall.

The Warriors took a 12-0 lead to begin the dual after a pair of forfeits from the Crimson Wave at 133-lbs. and 141-lbs. before sophomore Adam Fahs (Portage, MI/Trine) added to the Tech lead with a 22-5 technical fall win over Tyran Claypool at 149-lbs.

At 157-lbs. freshman Reece Lefever (Ft. Wayne, IN/Carroll) pinned Daniel Reimer in 3:30 and his brother, Conner Lefever (Ft. Wayne, IN/Carroll), followed it up with a 2-0 decision over Ramiro Rojas at 165-lbs.

Tech jumped ahead 36-0 after victories by junior Kafuba Donzon (Albany, GA/Darton) and freshman Tanner Martin (Ft. Wayne, IN/Snider). Donzon defeated John Tyler by major decision at 174-lbs. and Martin needed only 1:51 to pin Mark Daugherty in the 184-lbs. weight class.

The Crimson Wave cut into the Tech lead, 36-6, with a pin fall at 197-lbs. but junior Andre Dunn (Kewanee, IL/Lincoln) responded with a 10-2 major decision win over Coty Anderson at 285-lbs.

In the main event, freshman Andre Sanders (Farmington Hills, MI/Harrison) capped off a terrific night for the Warriors by earning 2-1 decision over two-time NAIA National Qualifier Anthony Hawkins in the 125-lbs. division.

Indiana Tech returns to the mat on Saturday, Feb. 18 at the NAIA Regional Qualifying Tournament held at the University of the Cumberlands in Williamsburg, Kentucky. Action starts at 9 a.m.



Indiana Tech 43, Calumet College of St. Joseph 6  

133 - Kris McKinley (Tech) win by forfeit  

141 - Travis Barroquillo (Tech) win by forfeit  

149 - Adam Fahs (Tech) technical fall Tyran Claypool (CCSJ), 22-5  

157 - Reece Lefever (Tech) fall Daniel Reimer (CCSJ), 3:30  

165 - Conner Lefever (Tech) dec. Ramiro Rojas (CCSJ), 2-0  

174 - Kafuba Donzon (Tech) major dec. John Tyler (CCSJ), 19-8  

184 - Tanner Martin (Tech) fall Mark Daugherty (CCSJ), 1:51  

197 - Eric Johnson (CCSJ) fall Dustin Boyd (Tech), 6:26  

285 - Andre Dunn (Tech) major dec. Coty Anderson (CCSJ), 10-2  

125 - Andre Sanders (Tech) dec. Anthony Hawkins (CCSJ), 2-1


For more information on Indiana Tech athletics please call the Athletic Office at 260-422-5561 ext. 2262 or visit our website at http://www.indianatech.edu/athletics


Media Contact

Zach Shore
Sports Information Director
(260) 422-5561, ext. 2492

University Info

Indiana Tech
1600 E. Washington Blvd.
Fort Wayne, IN 46803
(800) 937-2448
Locate Tech | Campus map [PDF]

Visit the Men's Lacrosse news archives for past news releases.

Copyright © 2014 Indiana Tech    1600 East Washington Blvd., Fort Wayne, Indiana 46803  [Map it]
Phone: 800.937.2448  ||  Contact Us | Employment | Campus Locations | Campus map