Wrestling Opens Season at EMU Open

November 3, 2012

For Immediate Release

Complete Results

Ypsilanti, Mich. – The 9th ranked Indiana Tech wrestling team opened its 2012-13 season at the 21st annual Eastern Michigan University Open on Saturday. Four Warrior wrestlers posted top-seven finishes on the day, including Brett Yarbrough (McDonough, GA/Henry County), Darryl Grayson (Springfield, OH/Springfield), Elijah Curtley (Jeffersonville, IN/Jeffersonville), and Logan Rimmer (Temperance, MI/Bedford).

Yarbrough finished in 7th place at 125-lbs with a 4-2 record. He won his opening bout, but dropped a 5-2 decision to Alex Calandrino of Eastern Michigan to drop into the consolation bracket. There, Yarbrough won three straight matches before losing 5-4 to Braun Marquez of Northern Illinois.

At 174-lbs, Grayson got off to a 2-0 start before falling to Jordan Wohlfert of Michigan State 7-6. In the wrestlebacks, he pinned three straight opponents to take home 5th place.

Curtley also had an impressive collegiate debut, placing 7th at 197-lbs. He fell to Kurt Alder of Central Michigan to begin the day, but responded with a two straight wins, including a major decision before being pinned by Joe Brandt of Ashland.

Rimmer, another freshman, earned a 6th place finish at 285-lbs. The NAIA’s 13th ranked wrestler in the weight class lost a decision to Tyler Kral of Purdue before reeling off five straight wins. The wins included three pins and a major decision over three NCAA DI opponents. In the match for 5th place, he dropped a 6-5 decision to another Purdue grappler, Drake Stein.

The Warriors return to the mat on Sunday, Nov. 11 when they travel to East Lansing, Michigan for the Michigan State University Open.



125 lbs.

Kris McKinley (3-2)

Kris McKinley (Tech) dec. Trevor Wright (Unattached), 8-2

Tyler Foley (Alma) dec. Kris McKinley (Tech), 3-2

Kris McKinley (Tech) dec. Eddie Noble (Mount St. Joe), 11-4

Kris McKinley (Tech) dec. Cory Lester (Michigan), 4-1

Ian Ross (Lake Erie) dec. Kris McKinley (Tech), 3-2

Novric Reese (1-2)

Novric Reese (Tech) major dec. Kyle Ferguson (Tiffin), 8-0

Ian Ross (Lake Erie) major dec. Novric Reese (Tech), 17-5

Johnny Maurice (Ashland) fall Novric Reese (Tech), 2:12

Brett Yarbrough (4-2) – 7th Place

Brett Yarbrough (Tech) dec. Jordan Shoemaker (Tiffin), 9-3

Alex Calandrino (Eastern Michigan) dec. Brett Yarbrough (Tech), 5-2

Brett Yarbrough (Tech) dec. Ignace Hakizimana (Lincoln), 7-2

Brett Yarbrough (Tech) dec. Casimer Strzynski (Alma), 7-5

Brett Yarbrough (Tech) dec. Collin Lesko (Alma), 3-1

Braun Marquez (Northern Illinois) dec. Brett Yarbrough (Tech), 5-4

Brett Yarbrough (Tech) Ian Ross (Lake Erie)

C.J. Whitten (2-2)

C.J. Whitten (Tech) major dec. Eddie Noble (Mt. St. Joe), 9-1

Collin Lesko (Alma) major dec. C.J. Whitten (Tech), 13-1

C.J. Whitten (Tech) dec. Trevor Wright (Unattached), 9-3

Braun Marquez (Northern Illinois) major dec. C.J. Whitten (Tech), 11-3


133 lbs.

Kourtney Odom (2-2)

Kourtney Odom (Tech) dec. Zach Case (Alma), 6-3

Nicholas Baker (Olivet) major dec. Kourtney Odom (Tech), 14-3

Kourtney Odom (Tech) dec. Joey Montney (Grand Valley St.), 7-1

Robert Mason (Ashland) fall Kourtney Odom (Tech), 1:30


141 lbs.

Travis Dragomer (1-2)

Travis Dragomer (Tech) fall Tyler Slabaugh (Tiffin), 0:00

Mo Miller (Notre Dame OH) dec. Travis Dragomer (Tech), 4-1

Dan King (Cleveland St.) dec. Travis Dragomer (Tech), 6-1


149 lbs.

Collin Poynter (1-2)

Collin Poynter (Tech) FF Josh Brabon (Brockport State)

Jonatan Rivera (Notre Dame OH) fall Collin Poynter (Tech), 1:31

Lewis Cuccharia (Brockport State) dec. Collin Poynter (Tech), 7-3

Sidney Logan (1-2)

Sidney Logan (Tech) major dec. Ruben Burrows (Notre Dame OH), 19-9

Gabe Stepanovich (Grand Valley St.) fall Sidney Logan (Tech), 2:07

Jacob Weissend (Olivet) fall Sidney Logan (Tech), 4:12


157 lbs.

James Starks (1-2)

Kyle Burns (Ashland) major dec. James Starks (Tech), 13-4

James Starks (Tech) TF Kyle Lake (Eastern Michigan), 20-4

Donte Stevens (Grand Valley St.) fall James Starks (Tech), 4:13

James Bennett (1-2)

James Bennett (Tech) dec. Thomas Fehring (Mt. St. Joe), 6-0

Matt Donohoe (Cleveland State) dec. James Bennett (Tech), 10-9

Conor Young (Campbellsville) dec. James Bennett (Tech), 5-1


165 lbs.

Kafuba Donzon (2-2)

Kafuba Donzon (Tech) dec. Connor Brancheau (Michigan), 3-2

Kafuba Donzon (Tech) dec. Jake Dorulla (Eastern Michigan), 10-5

Patrick Robinson (Purdue) dec. Kafuba Donzon (Tech), 2OT 4-2

Mason True (Findlay) dec. Kafuba Donzon (Tech), 2-1


174 lbs.

Darryl Grayson (5-1) – 5th Place

Darryl Grayson (Tech) fall Michael Blum (Ashland), 2:40

Darryl Grayson (Tech) dec. Luke Schmidt (Purdue), 6-2

Jordan Wohlfert (Michigan State) dec. Darryl Grayson (Tech), 7-6

Darryl Grayson (Tech) fall Nicholas Manning (Mt. St. Joe), 6:15

Darryl Grayson (Tech) fall Kyle Koziel (Notre Dame OH), 1:46

Darryl Grayson (Tech) fall Andrew Higgins (Rend Lake), 6:24


184 lbs.

Taylor DeLong (2-2)

Taylor DeLong (Tech) dec. Nate Knauf (Campbellsville), 4-2

Taylor DeLong (Tech) dec. Andrew Hissom (Purdue), 7-0

Greg Cameron (Lincoln) dec. Taylor DeLong (Tech), 7-5

Devin Smith (Lake Erie) dec. Taylor DeLong (Tech), 6-5

Kelvin Jordan (1-2)

Craig Kelliher (Central Michigan) fall Kelvin Jordan (Tech), 6:20

Kelvin Jordan (Tech) dec. T Kerrigan (Ashland), 3-1

Brandonn Johnson (Notre Dame OH) fall Kelvin Jordan (Tech), 1:33


197 lbs.

Elijah Curtley (2-2) – 7th Place

Kurt Alder (Central Michigan) fall Elijah Curtley (Tech), 1:42

Elijah Curtley (Tech) major dec. Eric Boyd (Olivet), 10-1

Elijah Curtley (Tech) dec. Aren Norman (Tiffin), 4-3

Joe Brandt (Ashland) fall Elijah Curtley (Tech), 0:48

Elijah Curtley (Tech) Conor Maglecic (Campbellsville)

Dustin Boyd (1-2)

Dustin Boyd (Tech) dec. Austin Pickering (Northern Illinois), 9-7

Joe Miller (Tiffin) fall Dustin Boyd (Tech), 0:35

Luke Jones (Michigan State) fall Dustin Boyd (Tech), 4:12


285 lbs.

Clint Endicott (3-2)

Adam Robinson (Alma) fall Clint Endicott (Tech), 2:25

Clint Endicott (Tech) dec. Alejardro Reid (Olivet), 5-1

Clint Endicott (Tech) fall Iain Buckler (Mt. St. Joe), 1:08

Clint Endicott (Tech) fall Garrett Gray (Tiffin), 1:30

Amon Willis (Cleveland St.) dec. Clint Endicott (Tech), 2-1

Kegan Clark-Sanchez (0-2)

Dequence Goodman (Lincoln) fall Kegan Clark-Sanchez (Tech), 0:30

Cole Tristram (Brockport State) fall Kegan Clark-Sanchez (Tech), 1:08

Maisen Hill (0-2)

Dequence Goodman (Lincoln) TF Maisen Hill (Tech), 17-0

Jimi Keller (Unattached) fall Maisen Hill (Tech), 2:20

Logan Rimmer (5-2) – 6th Place

Tyler Kral (Purdue) dec. Logan Rimmer (Tech), 6-1

Logan Rimmer (Tech) major dec. Carlos Lugo (Ohio State), 12-0

Logan Rimmer (Tech) fall Brad Mills (Indiana), 2:30

Logan Rimmer (Tech) dec. Cole Tristram (Brockport State), 8-1

Logan Rimmer (Tech) fall Gregory Sebastian (Olivet), 0:48

Logan Rimmer (Tech) fall Amon Willis (Cleveland State), 4:15

Drake Stein (Purdue) dec. Logan Rimmer (Tech), 6-5


For more information on Indiana Tech athletics please call the Athletic Office at 260-422-5561 ext. 2492 or visit our website at http://www.indianatech.edu/athletics


Media Contact

Zach Shore
Sports Information Director
(260) 422-5561, ext. 2492

University Info

Indiana Tech
1600 E. Washington Blvd.
Fort Wayne, IN 46803
(800) 937-2448
Locate Tech | Campus map [PDF]

Visit the Men's Lacrosse news archives for past news releases.

Copyright © 2014 Indiana Tech    1600 East Washington Blvd., Fort Wayne, Indiana 46803  [Map it]
Phone: 800.937.2448  ||  Contact Us | Employment | Campus Locations | Campus map