Career and Professional Development Center

Tell Us About Your Internship

The opportunity and ability to apply your classroom learning in the real world, whether engineering a new mechanism, designing a website, or meeting with a client, is what makes your education valuable. Here we proudly feature the students who have done great work, learning that success is when you turn knowledge into application. We hope you indeed learn from them and step out to create your own Tech Success Story.

Testimonials

Some of our recent testimonials are posted below.

Henrique Rodrigues Queiroz

Major: Industrial & Manufacturing Engineering

Employer: Alcoa, INC

Job Title: Summer Intern

Date of Graduation: December 2014

What was the most beneficial thing you learned in your internship?

See the problems as an opportunity for improvement, never as a headache. Because it only becomes a headache at the point you sweep the dirt under the rug, never setting actions to solve it.

What advice would you give other students on finding the right internship?

Apply for the companies you believe you can see yourself working for in a few years, that way you will always feel motivated to give your best, achieving outstanding results and also earning people's recognition.

How has your internship affected you and your career goals?

I can't even measure how much maturity and experience I gained throughout the summer. After this opportunity I feel ready to face bigger challenges, I wouldn't say I had goals changes, but I can assure that my motivation to achieve my goals has been rising up.

Best Advice Received at Tech?

"Tell them you have a set of skill needed for that position and all you need is the opportunity to show your work at the field, ensure you will not let them down." The lesson I took from that sentence is you should never sell yourself short, that was really important for me..

Who did you receive the advice from?

Dr. Walls

Aubree Reichel

Major: Communications

Employer: United States Holocaust Memorial Museum

Job Title: Museum Services & Operations Intern

Date of Graduation: May 2013

What was the most beneficial thing you learned in your internship?

The internship showed me that even if you don't get concrete proof that what you accomplish during the day, what you do still matters. Interns performed various museum related tasks including orientation speeches, introductions and conclusions to films, and small presentations of the architecture of the building. At the end of the day, I was exhausted and had no concrete proof of accomplishment from the day's work. But in the end, there was the satisfaction that in my own small way, I reached out to nearly 5,000 visitors per day coming into the museum.

What advice would you give other students on finding the right internship?

Don't limit your options. Apply for anything you think even remotely applicable to your major. The Holocaust Museum wasn't my first choice and I almost dismissed it and took a regular paying job for the summer. After putting in over 200 hours over the summer, I am so glad I didn't.

How has your internship affected you and your career goals?

The internship affected my perception of customer service type positions. I am now more willing to approach and be more proactive, rather than waiting to be approached. I am more open and know how to admit it when I do not know something, but can point people in the right direction or find out for them. I am, also, more comfortable speaking in front of crowds in an informational setting.

Best Advice Received at Tech?

Don't take any opportunities for granted.

Who did you receive the advice from?

Combo of friends and faculty

 

David Vaught

Major: Computer Security & Investigations

Employer: Flex-N-Gate

Job Title: Quality Intern

Date of Graduation: May 2015

What was the most beneficial thing you learned in your internship?

I was able to get a lot of knowledge and first hand experience in the field I want to go into.

What advice would you give other students on finding the right internship?

Just look for one in your field. If you cant get one there look for something close.

How has your internship affected you and your career goals?

No, it hasnt affected them at all. All it really did is made me want to work it again!

 

Ashley Benvenuti

Major: Business Administration, Human Resources and Marketing

Employer: Epitec, Inc

Job Title: Sales & Delivery Support Intern

Date of Graduation: May 2015

 


What was the most beneficial thing you learned in your internship?

The most beneficial thing I learned during my internship was to work collaboratively as a team. Teamwork is a huge part in an internship because you are there to help and contribute to the team while at the same time you are gaining valuable experience and receiving coaching on how to most effectively perform in a job. Gaining this real world experience working with a team will really help with your professional development and provide a realistic view of what is needed to succeed in the business world. An internship also provides the opportunity to demonstrate your dedication and willingness to the company that you want to be there and are willing to learn. Epitec provided me many wonderful opportunities to learn new things as I was constantly moving to new positions. These rotations allowed me to develop new skills while encouraging me to reach beyond my current abilities to see what positions I would be most interested in for the future.

What advice would you give other students on finding the right internship?

My advice would be to never give up. No matter how hard it gets, the internship will take you a long way. My internship was the formation of my professional experience and it really helped shape my path for the future. I would tell them to think openly about all possible opportunities that they may find since any internship can provide a learning experience. Trying new things will only help you find what you’re most interested in while at the same time helping you determine what you won’t want to do. I believe everyone should get an internship before you graduate, which is aligned with their degree of choice. It’s always recommended to know ahead of time whether your pursued degree is one you will enjoy. Having a job that will keep you motivated and love will only make you move successful in the future.

How has your internship affected you and your career goals?

My internship has positively affected my career goals because I have realized that Human Resources is really a field I would like to go into. It better prepared me for what the role of the Human Resources organization is and the importance it has in helping a company meet its goals. I also feel that in an HR position I can personally help people meet their personal and professional goals. The internship also demonstrated to me the rapid pace of the work environment and opportunity for continuous learning. I now have a clearer view to what I like and don’t like about a job. I hope to one day to pursue a master’s degree in HR as well as achieve industry certification. I gained a lot of experience working with Epitec, and I look forward to working with them again in the future.

Best Advice Received at Tech?

The best advice that I received was guidance around the development of my resume.

Who did you receive the advice from?

Dr. Jeff Walls

 

Thomas Jarrett

Major: Business Administration

Employer: GE Aviation

Job Title: Summer Intern

Date of Graduation: May 2013

 


What was the most beneficial thing you learned in your internship?

The most beneficial thing I learned during my internship is to bring a positive energy to the team you are working on. Having a positive energy and a "can-do" attitude will take you a long way. Employers want an employee that is willing to take on new challenges, which is part of having a positive attitude.

What advice would you give other students on finding the right internship?

The best advice I would give other students on finding the right internship would be not limit yourself to one choice. Do not be afraid to branch out and work in a field that you are not familiar with. An example of this would be my internship this past summer. I interned in Supply Chain (which I knew very little about in the beginning) but ended up being a very positive experience. Try new things and experience new things because you never know where you will find your passion.

How has your internship affected you and your career goals?

Interning at such a prestigious company like GE allowed me to experience many different aspects of a business. I was fortunate to gain visibility in a wide variety of areas while interning with GE Aviation, helping shape my career goals. I am interested in returning to the business world and would like to work for a Fortune 500 Company in the near future.

Best Advice Received at Tech?

The help I received on my resume.

Who did you receive the advice from?

Dr. Jeff Walls

 

Allison Belcher

Major: Accounting and Human Resources

Employer: Franklin Electric

Job Title: Corporate HR Intern

Date of Graduation: May 2013

 


What was the most beneficial thing you learned in your internship?

The most beneficial thing I learned during my internship is that dedication and commitment can go a long way. I am in the corporate world where employees can climb the ladder and expand their horizons personally and professionally. At Franklin Electric, there are employees who have been here for over 40 years! That is dedication and loyalty to Franklin for sure.

What advice would you give other students on finding the right internship?

My advice is to never give up. I lost the number of times I filled out applications and talked to potential employers on the phone. I gave myself a goal to have an internship the summer of 2012 no matter what. You will find a time where you want to give up because no one is hiring. My advice is to never give up and an internship will fall in place for you. I can truly now say I never gave up and I found the best internship for me.

How has your internship affected you and your career goals?

My internship has made me want to continue learning. I want to continue working for Franklin Electric and continue going to school. I know that I want my master’s degree in Human Resources and then get certified as a professional in human resources. I gained great experience working in the corporate world and I can’t wait to see what the world has out there for me.

Best Advice Received at Tech?

"Look your potential employer in the eye and tell them you wont let them down." I guarantee you will get the job.

Who did you receive the advice from?

Dr. Walls

 

Sara Didandeh

Major: Criminal Justice

Employer: City of Lawrence Police Department

Job Title: Intern

Date of Graduation: December 2012

What was the most beneficial thing you learned in your internship?

The most beneficial thing I learned during my internship is the fact that police officers are very misunderstood by much of society. They do not make the laws, only enforce them. I also learned that being a police officer takes much dedication to ones own self and community.

What advice would you give other students on finding the right internship?

I would tell students to use their resources. To call companies or agencies they are interested in interning for and inquiring. Don't stop until they are satisfied.

How has your internship affected you and your career goals?

It confirmed the fact that I want to be a police officer, and I want to eventually become a detective.

Best Advice Received at Tech?

Finish what I came to do.

Who did you receive the advice from?

My Coach

 

Jedidiah Bressman

Major: Communication

Employer: Federated Media

Job Title: 97.3 WMEE Intern

Date of Graduation: May 2014

 


What was the most beneficial thing you learned in your internship?

I learned that hard work, dedication, always asking to do more, and being early are big ways to get you on the fast track to where you want to go. If you are willing to do the work and ask questions, you never know what may come your way.

What advice would you give other students on finding the right internship?

Ask everyone. Friends, family, co-workers, teachers, or whomever else you can ask. Everyone knows different people and you can end up somewhere that wasn't even on your radar.

How has your internship affected you and your career goals?

After my internship in May, I got hired at another radio station working as a board operator. Hopefully, I will be taking the next step onto radio from that point.

Best Advice Received at Tech?

There is always something new to learn, never stop progressing for the fear that you will fall behind.

Who did you receive the advice from?

Steven Malloris

 

Joseph Cochran

Major: Computer Security and Investigation

Employer: Bluehost, Provo, UT

Job Title: L1 Tech Support

Date of Graduation: May 2013

 


What was the most beneficial thing you learned in your internship?

My internship as a Level 1 Tech at Bluehost brought out much of the technical knowledge I've learned at Indiana Tech. I had to deal with configuring DNS and MySQL databases on a daily basis. Linux command line was also essential for working at a fast pace. Most of my skills in these areas were learned in the class rooms and done as homework. When you need to do things efficiently in practical situations on a time crunch it really hones your skills and brings out your best. I would say the number one thing I learned was dealing with unhappy customers over the phone and helping them resolve their issues and leave them with a positive experience.

What advice would you give other students on finding the right internship?

I strongly suggest to not only apply for any sort of job or internship that you are interested in, but also to follow up with the company by calling in with additional questions or stopping by to talk to them in person. You don't need to be the perfect fit for a job, but show you are interested and go the extra mile. I would also suggest to research and learn as much as you can about the company before interviewing. This has helped me to ask good questions and bring up relevant topics at the end of interviews.

How has your internship affected you and your career goals?

I would like to start a company of my own in the near future. During my time in Utah I gained a lot of insight from my boss and founder of Bluehost on how to go about with my business plans. Communicating with people over the phone and through email was also a good learning experience which I think will help me immensely in the future.

 

More student testimonials

Tammi Broadus, Psychology

Employer: Girls Incorporated, Indianapolis, IN

Job Title: Coordinator

Date of Graduation: May 2012

 






What was the most beneficial thing you learned in your internship?

The experience of working in teams of people with different education levels as well as personality traits. I had always preferred to work alone in previous jobs, but when I was forced to work in groups inside the classroom, it helped me get more comfortable working with others. After several classes, I became comfortable being the leader in most of the groups I was a part of. After getting several courses under my belt, I also developed a love for public speaking, which has proven to be helpful in my current position.

What advice would you give other students on finding the right internship?

Take your time. It's not about how quickly you can complete your degree. It is very much about the content you get out of each class. Enjoy learning; it makes things so much easier when you're doing your homework!

What was the best advice you received at Indiana Tech?

Education alone doesn't prepare you for a career; education paired with hard work is what one needs in order to have a successful career. Indiana Tech provides opportunities for both. Trust the institution's mission.

Morgan Delagrange, Business Management and Human Resources
Morgan Delagrange

Employer: Parkview Health

Job Title: HR Intern

Date of Graduation: May 2014

 






What was the most beneficial thing you learned in your internship?

I have learned that when a company starts a new process it takes a few trys to find the right method to use to get the job done in the most efficient way. It is important to not get frustrated and contribute your own ideas because you may see things differently. I also learned how to review applications and what employers look for. I reviewed hundreds of applications and I got a pretty good idea of what to do and not to do when filling out applications.

What advice would you give other students on finding the right internship?

You just have to get out there and meet people. I found my internship by doing an informational interview for class. I met with the HR manager of student services at Parkview to discuss the HR processes he uses and when the interview was over I gave him my resume and told him I was interested in interning if anything was available.. A week later he called and offered me an internship. I showed interest in the company which goes along way with employers.

How has your internship affected you and your career goals?

Before I took this internship I was only majoring in business management however, I have really enjoyed my experience at Parkview that I have decided to duel major in management and human resources. At Parkview I have experienced and participated in the entire recruiting process and this not only has helped me get a feel of what I would be doing if I worked in HR but what employers look for in an application. I learned what requirements gets your application directly to the manager and that will help mer in whatever career path I choose to take.

What was the best advice you received at Indiana Tech?

The best advice I received was to bring my resume to an informational interview and tell the manager I was interested in an internship if one was available. That is how I got this internship at Parkview.

Who did you receive this advice from?

Dr. Jeffery Walls

Ben Swygart, Information Systems

Employer: Indiana Tech & Fort Wayne PD Hostage Crisis Team

Job Title: N/A

Date of Graduation: May 2012

What was the most beneficial thing you learned in your internship?

The ability to work with others on a team. We had a system which needed to be improved on, a deadline to meet, and needed to collaborate with one another to accomplish it.

What advice would you give other students on finding the right internship?

I was fortunate in finding my internship as it more or less found me. But of course, as with anything in life, you must be persistent. Don't give up when you become flustered from not hearing back from potential internships.

How has your internship affected you and your career goals?

It has opened my eyes to a new possibility of careers and the need of technology within all aspects of business.

Adrianna Michel, Sports Management

Employer: Fort Wayne TinCaps

Job Title: Ticket Office Intern

Date of Graduation: May 2011

 






What was the most beneficial thing you learned in your internship?

How to work in a professional environment with different departments all working together for the benefit. It's very similar to being on an athletic team, which I've been apart of for 10 years. You have to work with different personalities and management styles. It also gave me a lot of confidence in networking, too. CEOs and business owners are less intimidating after you've talked to them in a casual setting.

What advice would you give other students on finding the right internship?

Any experience is good experience, as long as it pertains to your degree in some way. It doesn't have to be in the exact field you want. I never did job shadowing, but we've had a lot of college students come to the TinCaps to shadow and I think it's a great idea. It gives you a good feel for what you'd be jumping into if you took a job in that field.

How has your internship affected you and your career goals?

It hasn't changed my career goals too much, I still know what I want to do. But it has given me so much knowledge and experience that I feel is relevant in any field. My internship is 9 months, which is pretty long. But it gave me enough time to master a lot of the procedures and systems that were used. I gained experience in sales and cold-calling which I didn't think would happen.

Alyssa Priebe, Business Management

Employer: Fort Wayne Metals

Job Title: Sales & Marketing Intern

Date of Graduation: May 2013

What was the most beneficial thing you learned in your internship?

How to really love the work that I am doing and the people that I work with everyday. I also learned a completley different side of sales and marketing. You do not realize how different roles within a company are, until you start at another company.

What advice would you give other students on finding the right internship?

You have to go through multiple internships, at least one a semester, to gain experience. Experience is really the only way to finding the right internship or job fit for yourself personally.

How has your internship affected you and your career goals?

My current internship has basically created my future career. It has painted the perfect picture for what I can see myself doing in the future. I have learned so much information about the medical industry and I am so thankful for the opportunities that I have been given at Fort Wayne Metals.

Corey Schwartz, Computer Security & Investigation

Employer: Do it Best, Corp

Job Title: Web Programmer

Date of Graduation: December 2011

 






What was the most beneficial thing you learned in your internship?

The most beneficial knowledge I have learned from becoming an intern is how important it is to be professional at all times. I have been in several meetings and on several projects that have required me to have proficient communication skills as well as the professional demeanor to coordinate with my co-workers in completing complex projects. To be able to work with others in completing tasks and doing your part of a project is a key element is success. So for me I believe one of the greatest things I have learned at my internships was the importance of being able to be a responsible, organized, reliable individual that can be looked upon as someone that is desired to be worked with.

What advice would you give other students on finding the right internship?

My advice would be to give yourself plenty of options. Research companies and the positions to find out all that you can know about the specific responsibilities of the internship and what you will be learning while you are there. You want to look at an internship as how it will benefit you in the future. An internship is a great way to earn gain an immeasurable amount of professional world experience as well as being able to network with other individuals. The one thing I would be sure of is to know how much the internship will be beneficial to you.

How has your internship affected you and your career goals?

The internships for me have changed me a great deal. I have become a lot more focused and clear on what I want to do in life and what I will need to do to reach my goals. My interships have affected my career goals a great deal. One of my interships is working as a Web Development Programmer for a private wholesale company, Do It Best Corp. My other internship is working for the Lima PD in Ohio as Computer Forensic Analyst intern. Both of these internships have taught me a great deal of knowledge for both fields, but by working both I have realized what field I want to go into. I can't get enough of computer forensics and it fascinates me to always have something new to work with everyday providing me with a new challenge. After finding that this was my main area of interest I began to look for openings in the Private sector and government agencies.

Daniel Freer, Networking

Employer: Symantic

Job Title: Quality Assurance Tester

Date of Graduation: May 2014

What was the most beneficial thing you learned in your internship?

I think the most helpful thing I've learned during my internship is that regardless of the type of job, communication and problem solving skills are critical. Be willing to ask for help when you need it, and be able to accurately describe the problem you are experiencing will save everyone time. If you have a process to troubleshoot a problem and develop a solution, you can be effective in fields you may not have been trained in, increasing your value to your company.

What advice would you give other students on finding the right internship?

Network with your professors, especially those in your field. Take time to get to know them, show up to class everyday so they get to know you, and also get to know your fellow classmates. Try to find an internship that is actually challenging and slightly outside of your current skill set, so that you will learn something.

How has your internship affected you and your career goals?

My internship has taught me a lot about myself, in terms of what kind of work I enjoy and how effective I am at managing my time. It has helped me realize that I really like some aspects of my current career choice, and also things that I do not feel like I would enjoy. Being exposed to this early in my college learning allows me to fine tune my education toward the job I really want to attain.

David Dalman, Computer Science

Employer: Do It Best, Corp.

Job Title: Web Programmer

Date of Graduation: May 2014

What was the most beneficial thing you learned in your internship?

The most beneficial thing that I've learned is that communication plays an important role in every aspect of the job. Whether you have a question or just working within a group you must speak up and share your ideas. Also communication plays an important role across the company. Departments need to talk to each other to make sure things are getting done and it's what the customer wants.

What advice would you give other students on finding the right internship?

Don't be afraid to apply for a position if you don't think you meet the requirements. Its all about getting your foot in the door and putting yourself out there. Employers can help you catch up on the stuff you may not know and the internship may turn into a permanent position if they like you.

How has your internship affected you and your career goals?

This internship has given me the opportunity to work with some of the new technologies and get experience in a professional environment. As far as career goals this internship has exposed me to the different pieces that go into web development. It is definitely something I'd be interested in studying more.

Derek Desjardins, Mechanical Engineering

Employer: Navistar

Job Title: Global Chassis Front Axle Intern

Date of Graduation: May 2014

 






What was the most beneficial thing you learned in your internship?

Communication is so important and necessary in any career. If you are an engineer and you think you will get to sit and design things and work out equations all day, you are sadly mistaken. People skills are required, especially if you want to move up the ladder. Meetings and conference calls can help people get on the same page and be able to make further progress on projects.

What advice would you give other students on finding the right internship?

Apply for as many internships as you think you might have the smallest interest in. If you get 5 offers, that's great! Don't worry about having to turn an offer down; it's not a big deal, especially if you have found something else that is better.

How has your internship affected you and your career goals?

It's given me a taste of the professional work world. I want to work on narrowing down what I want to do more specifically in my career. Engineers can do such a wide variety of things; I just need to figure out how I can use my degree in an effective way that I will enjoy.

Jacob Harris, Mechanical Engineering

Employer: Fort Wayne Metals

Job Title: Engineering Intern

Date of Graduation: May 2012

What was the most beneficial thing you learned in your internship?

The most beneficial thing I learned at my internship is that you can never be too organized. Throughout my internship, I was given a lot of different projects from a lot of different people. Learning the importance of organizing and prioritizing is a very helpful tool that will help me in the future.

What advice would you give other students on finding the right internship?

Try to find an internship that's at least close to being within your career field. This will give you a great idea of whether or not you actually want to pursue that field after all. Not only that, but it can lead to a future job within that company, or at least give you experience that will look good on a resume.

How has your internship affected you and your career goals?

My internship has allowed me to become more familiar with the engineering process within a growing company. This experience will go a long way in helping me with my future career.

Joeb Woodring, Mechanical Engineering

Employer: Navistar

Job Title: Intern

Date of Graduation: May 2015

What was the most beneficial thing you learned in your internship?

Communication, comunication,communication. Sitting behind a computer screen on my first day, I really could not imagine how important communication could be to my job. Innumerable times I would need information from my project coordinator to complete a project or start a new project, clarify an indescrepency on a part drawing, or convey my findings. More often than not, especially toward the conclusion of my internship, I would need to track down an individual in person: not an easy feat for a person whose description lacks "socialite." Repetition of such occurrences drove home the fact that communication forms an integral part of any engineer's job, regardless of their experience level.

What advice would you give other students on finding the right internship?

Go for whatever internship you can find, but stick somewhat close to your major. I met interns that were electrical engineers by major but industrial engineers by job description and undeclared engineers designing software tools that were outside their comfort zones at first, but ended up liking what they were doing. On the other extreme, electrical engineers probably should not spring for criminal justice-related internships, and vice versa. Who knows, maybe by straying out of your discipline, you can find a career that suits you better.

How has your internship affected you and your career goals?

My internship gave me valuable experience in not only the workforce, but also in my career choice. The past summer reinforced my interest in mechanical engineer in an enjoyable manner, allowing me to network with other engineers from multiple disciplines.

Justin Smith, Software Engineering

Employer: Applied Payment Network

Job Title: Associate Developer

Date of Graduation: May 2013

What was the most beneficial thing you learned in your internship?

I have learned so many beneficial things, that it has changed me entirely. Recently, I had a stark experience which caused me to reflect upon what I learned while interning as a Software Engineer. Before starting my internship, I had my own little project of making a video game. I had some functions made, such as basic artificial intelligence and the player could walk around. After starting my internship, this project was placed on the backburner because I was so busy learning the skills I needed. After about a month of working at the internship, I wasn't struggling to complete my work, and therefore started to have more free time. I decided to return and complete some more work on my game. So after opening my game up, I paused and looked at the code, thinking to myself: "What was I doing? Why did I it that way?". I had learned so much from my internship that I now knew better ways to do the things I needed. My experience with my internship had changed me to the point where I now do things in a completely different and better way. My old video game work was a reflection of my inexperience, and it feels strange knowing that I developed an entirely new and professional outlook in only a month. So this is why I can't say what was the most beneficial thing I learned. Because what I learned changed everything I do.

What advice would you give other students on finding the right internship?

Take charge in pursuing internship opportunities that require your skill set, or skills that are similar enough to yours that you can learn what you need quickly. And don't be afraid to ask for help. When I was looking for an internship, I asked my classmates and my professors about any positions they may have heard of, and I wouldn't have gotten this internship if I hadn't. Their willing to help you, they only need to be asked. And in most cases, applying for positions you've heard of from your classmates and professors gives you a better chance of getting the position faster because you're introduced by someone the employer knows. When I asked my professor about possible positions, he said he knew of a couple and forwarded my resume to them. I got a call to meet for an interview the exact same day and got hired on the spot afterwards. The time between speaking to my professor and getting hired was less than 6 hours apart!

How has your internship affected you and your career goals?

My internship has made me a more confident person. I now feel more ambitious than before, as it has shown me that I can perform well in the real world. The people I work with have a lot of faith in me that I will get my work done, and I often exceed their expectations with my results. My career goals are the same, as I will always pursue work in Software Engineering. It's what I know, it's what I like, and I find it satisfying and fulfilling when I get it done. The experience with my internship has only made me know it more, like it better, and get more satisfaction from completing difficult assignments.

Travis Rolston, Accounting

Employer: Three Rivers Federal Credit Union

Job Title: Accounting Intern

Date of Graduation: May 2013

 






What was the most beneficial thing you learned in your internship?

I learned that an internship is crucial to excelling in a job that is obtained right after graduating college, because of the steep learning curve that has to take place in a short amount of time. The internship has provided me with knowledge to get through the first few months of a new job.

What advice would you give other students on finding the right internship?

Apply for every internship that is related to your major. Try to pick an internship that will give you the most exposure to every type of work that could be done by your major.

How has your internship affected you and your career goals?

The internship has shown me that my career goals are within reach and helped me narrow down what I would like to do with in my career field.

Kate Whitacre, Biomedical Engineering

Employer: Fort Wayne Metals

Job Title: NiTiNOL Product Manager

 







What was the most beneficial thing you learned in your internship?

The most beneficial lesson I learned from my internship was to expand my talent out of my department and help others across the company.

What advice would you give other students on finding the right internship?

Apply for any internship that looks remotely interesting to you, even if you do not think you will be hired or meet the minimum qualifications.

How has your internship affected you and your career goals?

By graduation, I will have two years of continuous experience in the medical industry. I will be able to relate my experience as an intern to any other interview for a job or graduate school.

Ashli Follrod, Criminal Justice

Employer: Columbia City Police Department

Job Title: Intern

 







What was the most beneficial thing you learned in your internship?

The most beneficial thing that I learned in my internship was that police officers are not just people that show up to crimes, they show up to every sort of problem there may be. Police officers take on many roles whether it be crime preventers, crime stoppers, or the person who jumps your car. Police officers are looked down upon by many people, but they put up with a lot of stress, dangerous or deadly situations, and work to save people's lives or help others. Their jobs consist of random events, and they never know what to expect or what they may come across.

What advice would you give other students on finding the right internship?

I would tell other students to go to an advisor or other employee of Indiana Tech that has had the experience of a career that they may be interested in pursuing. I believe that one who has had experience can give the best advice, and the right resources to find an internship beneficial for any student. I also believe that a student's internship should be related to the career they plan to pursue as much as possible to get the experience in, and to decide if this career is the right choice for them later on.

How has your internship affected you and your career goals?

My internship at the police department has brought many things to my attention. I highly enjoyed my experience with the officers, and they did teach me a lot that I needed to know about police work. I realized that a larger police department would fit me the best. I enjoy working with a lot of people, and I plan on pursuing a position as a detective focusing on homicide and sexual assault.

Katherine Bergfeld, Mechanical Engineering

Employer: Press-Seal Gasket Corporation

Job Title: Intern

 







What was the most beneficial thing you learned in your internship?

The biggest thing that I've learned is that communication is everything. There is likely someone at the company that knows the answer to your question or can point you in the right direction if you just ask. I'm normally a shy person, but I forced myself to ask questions right from the beginning. Your coworkers (generally) don't want to see you fail, so don't be afraid to brainstorm with them. Also, remember the golden rule and you'll earn respect much faster!

What advice would you give other students on finding the right internship?

In the current economic climate, it isn't so much about finding the right internship; rather it's about getting your foot in the door. I searched for the first 3 years of my college career before I found this internship. I was extremely fortunate to find an internship where I was treated less as the stereotypical lowly intern and more as the new engineer who was handed the responsibility of developing a new product within the first month. I did not know much about the pipe gasket industry before I applied for this internship, but I quickly learned how critical these components are to everyday life. The best advice is that you need to have an open mind. If you put the effort into making it right for you, almost anything can be the "right" internship.

How has your internship affected you and your career goals?

It has opened my eyes to careers that are available to mechanical engineers. I initially believed that I wanted a job in the automotive industry, but now I realize that nearly any industry will allow someone with a strong work ethic to succeed. I was fortunate to find an internship at a company that cares deeply for it's employees. This has shown me not necessarily the specific field that I want to go into, but rather defined the type of company that I want to work for.

Ben Baker

Employer: Press-Seal Gasket Corporation

Job Title: Director of Sales

 







What was the most beneficial thing you learned in your internship?

I have learned that building relationships with your clients is one of the greatest things you can do during your experience. Making lifelong connections will take you a long ways. I have made so many connections through clients and co-workers that will surely benefit me throughout my life. I've also learned to never accept a "no" from someone who is not qualified to give you a "yes".

What advice would you give other students on finding the right internship?

Never get discouraged during your internship search. Always remain positive and write down names of individuals you have talked to. Call back and follow up after you submit your cover letter and resume. Calling back lets the employer know that you are really interested in the internship and will increase your chances of a phone or face to face interview. Always remember to send a thank you letter 24 hours after you speak to a representative of the business. If you are looking for an internship within the sports industry like I was searching for, I suggest www.teamworkonline.com. You will hear a lot about www.jobsinsports.com; however, TeamWork has the same jobs and it's free.

How has your internship affected you and your career goals?

I am currently the director of group sales for the San Angelo Colts. This internship has combined my love of both sports and business. After being involved in sports as a business, it has created a passion for me to continue to rise up in the ranks within the sports industry. It is essential in this industry that you complete an internship; while a degree is phenomenal, the internship and experience will count more than the degree.

Bookmark and Share

Looking for a job? Try Indiana Tech's online job posting database powered by CSO.

Jobseeker Tips

Employer Log in

Student Log in

Alumni Log in

NACE Calculator
Copyright © 2014 Indiana Tech    1600 East Washington Blvd., Fort Wayne, Indiana 46803  [Map it]
Phone: 800.937.2448  ||  Contact Us | Employment | Campus Locations | Campus map