Indiana Tech Alumni, Donors, & Friends: Featured Stories: May 2011
Warriors champions of first National Women’s Lacrosse League Tournament
The Lady Warriors entered the National Women’s Lacrosse League (NWLL) Tournament in Rome, Georgia seeded number two in addition to being the league’s top team in offensive scoring with an average of more than18 goals per game in league play.
Game photo from March 2011 when the Lady Warriors matched up with Lake Erie.
Game photo from March 2011 when the Lady Warriors matched up with Lake Erie.
Written by: Mike Peterson, Alumni Director / May 2011

In the first round of play, Tech beat No. 3 Missouri Baptist 21–11, advancing the Warriors to the championship game against No. 1 Tennessee Wesleyan College. Earlier in the season, Tech had lost to Tennessee Wesleyan, so they were seeking an opportunity to redeem themselves.

In the championship game, the Lady Warriors did exactly that. From the start, Tech showed Tennessee Wesleyan that they meant business with an eight minute scoring spree in the first half. Tech ended the first half with a 7–3 lead. The Warriors kept charge in the second half and won the game 15–10 to take the first ever NWLL championship. Leading the Warriors in the championship game was Autumn McMillin with four goals, Nicole Johnson and Chelsea Olson each scored three goals, while Kendall Guthrie and Nikki Rottell both added two goals apiece and Holly Holod scored one to make up the total 15 Tech goals. Both teams were firing a myriad of shots on goal, and there were plenty of scoring opportunities for both squads, but Tech goal keeper Ashley Elvey’s 11 saves on 21 shots helped lead the Lady Warriors to victory. The Warriors ended their season with an 18–4 record.

In addition to winning the tournament, Tech’s attacker Autumn McMillin was named Most Valuable Player of the National Women’s Lacrosse League Tournament. Her 11 total tournament goals helped her to stand out from the rest. McMillin also earned first-team All-Tournament honors along with teammates Kendall Guthrie and Chelsea Olson. Second team honors were earned by Nikki Rottell and Alyssa Priebe, and Holly Holod earned Honorable Mention status.

Not only was this team very successful on the field of competition, but they also gave outstanding performances in the classroom. The Lady Warriors far out-distanced all of the other schools in the conference with eight players receiving All-NWILL Academic awards. Earning these important awards were: Alyssa Priebe, Audrea Castaneda, Chelsea Olson, Brandi Beasley, Nicole Moffat, Ashley Elvey, Clea Endres, and Nicole Johnson. To receive All-NWILL Academic honors, players had to maintain a GPA of at least 3.25 and have enough credits to be considered a sophomore, junior, or senior.

This talented team was very young consisting of all freshman and sophomores, save for one junior. With another fine recruiting class incoming, the future will continue to look bright for years to come.

Contact Us


Support Tech - Make a gift to Indiana Tech
Copyright © 2014 Indiana Tech    1600 East Washington Blvd., Fort Wayne, Indiana 46803  [Map it]
Phone: 800.937.2448  ||  Contact Us | Employment | Campus Locations | Campus map