Skip Navigation

Dr. Su is the 2021 Leepoxy Award winner

September 3, 2021 from left to right, VPAA Dr. Katherine Watland, Dr. Yun Su and President Karl Einolf

Assistant professor of mathematics, Dr. Yun (Suky) Su, is the winner of Indiana Tech’s 2021 Leepoxy Award for Teaching Innovation. This award was established in 2008 by community supporter and owner of Leepoxy Plastics, Larry Lee. It is given annually to a full-time faculty member who:

  • Challenges students to continuously progress to higher levels of thinking
  • Engages students in active learning activities
  • Connects to students in innovative ways to positively impact their experiences at Indiana Tech

Dr. Su received her award during Indiana Tech’s convocation ceremony on Aug. 31. During the presentation, she was recognized for:

  • Always challenging her students to think outside of the box and apply mathematical theory into real applications
  • Implementing new software in the classroom—including MyMathTest, Kahoot!, GeoGebra, MATLAB, Latex, Video Capture and Mobius—to enhance her learning environment and reinforce learning objectives
  • Redeveloped a pair of essential math classes for the online environment to make them more effective and impactful learning experiences for students
  • Connecting well with her students and exuding her passion about lifelong learning
  • Her work as the assistant director of Indiana Tech’s Teaching Excellence Center, a recently-created university resource designed to support faculty

“Suky’s contributions to our university are amazing, and I am so happy for her,” said Indiana Tech’s Vice President for Academic Affairs, Dr. Kathleen Hanold Watland. “She is a beloved professor, a wonderful colleague and a true team player whom this university and its students can always count on for excellence.”