University News

Professor Robbins is Greater Fort Wayne Business Weekly’s Teacher of the Year

October 11, 2016

professor cortney robbins

Associate professor of English, Cortney Robbins, was named Teacher of the Year by Greater Fort Wayne Business Weekly when it announced its 2016 Education Award recipients on Oct. 5. Robbins, who has been a professor at Tech since 2007, will be honored with other winning educators at a special awards dinner on Oct. 26, at the Allen County War Memorial Coliseum Conference Center.

“We are pleased to see Cortney Robbins recognized for her hard work and dedication,” said Dr. Joshua Francis, dean of Indiana Tech’s College of General Studies. “Professor Robbins has demonstrated a strong commitment to the success of her students. She pushes students to achieve to their highest potential and encourages students to think about issues beyond the surface.”

Greater Fort Wayne Business Weekly’s Education Awards recognize outstanding teachers in northeast Indiana who engage and inspire their students – individually, and as a group – to encourage life-long learning. The 2016 Education Awards winners are:

  • Lifetime Achievement Award – Vernie Scheiber, 5th grade, St. John Lutheran School, Kendallville
  • Teacher of the Year- Cortney Robbins, associate professor of English, Indiana Tech, Fort Wayne
  • Principal of the Year – Brian Shepherd, principal, West Noble Primary, Ligonier
  • Leadership Award – Lorri Garner, literacy coordinator, West Noble Primary, Ligonier
  • Art teacher of the year – Christopher Adams, economics, Carroll High School, Fort Wayne
  • Foreign Language Teacher the Year – Patricia Hart, language, DeKalb High School, Waterloo
  • Music Teacher the Year – Bryan Munoz, director of bands, East Noble High School, Kendallville
  • Art Teacher the Year – Christine Mathews, art, Jefferson Middle School, Fort Wayne
  • Early Childhood Teacher the Year -Dawn Sowles, preschool lead teacher, The Learning Community, Auburn
  • Special Needs Teacher the Year -Katie Thomas, grades 7-12, Eastside Jr. – Sr. High School, Butler