On Saturday, Indiana Tech’s women’s track and field won its fourth straight NAIA Women’s Indoor Track & Field Championship. Indiana Tech scored 88 points to win the national title, edging out William Carey (Mississippi), which finished with 79 points. The men’s team finished 14th with 19 points. It was a closely packed bunch of teams as the Warriors were just nine points out of fifth place.

It was 17th time since 2013 an Indiana Tech track and field team has captured a national title. By winning its fourth straight championship, Indiana Tech accomplishes something that hasn’t been done on the women’s side in over 20 years. The last school (men or women) to win four straight NAIA championships was, in fact, Indiana Tech, whose men won the trophy from 2014 to 2017

Lisa Voyles accounted for 22 points for the Warriors, with individual national titles in the mile and 1000, plus a second-place finish in the distance medley relay. Her 1000m win had special significance as she becomes just the seventh female student-athlete in the history of the NAIA to win the same event four years in a row.

In addition to the wins, Voyles picked up a school record in the 1000m (2:46.84) and anchored the DMR squad to another school record (11:48.43). In her collegiate career, Voyles is now an eight-time national champion and a 19-time All-American.

Jamaya Warthen picked up a huge win in the 60 meter dash to earn her first national title. Her lean at the line gave her a win in 7.39, just .006 ahead of the second-place finisher.

For his efforts leading the team, Doug Edgar earned National Coach of the Year honors for the 17th time.

Additional highlights:

  • Soyinne Grenyion broke her own school record in the women’s 400m in 53.43 to take second place.
  • Krista Boese broke the five-minute barrier in the mile (4:57.29) to earn All-American honors with a sixth-place finish. She became just the third athlete in school history to break 5:00.
  • Kiya Pogue ran 8.40 to finish third in the women’s 60 hurdles and earn All-American honors in the event for the third consecutive year.
  • Javon Sanders took second in the 60 hurdles in a PR of 6.91 with Ahumad Williams right behind in fourth (6.96).
  • Soyinne Grenyion earned second place in the 200m in 23.51. Jamaya Warthen also earned All-American honors with a fourth-place finish.Jo’Deci Irby earned a fourth-place finish in the women’s 600m in a time of 1:32.42.
  • Aaron Heisser earned his first All-American honors in the 600m with a seventh-place time of 1:20.48.